top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHeather

N.E.W.T.s Read-a-thon TBR


Nastily Exhausting Wizarding Tests

Since I finished my O.W.L.s, the N.E.W.T.s are coming up in August! The N.E.W.T.s are the next level of wizarding tests in the world of Harry Potter and tend to be more specific to requisite skills for your desired profession. To match my Muggle career (a Spanish teacher), I want to be a professor of Ancient Runes at Hogwarts. In order to do so, I have to complete seven reading challenges/N.E.W.T. exams.


1. To achieve an A (Acceptable) in Ancient Runes (the subject you wish to teach at Hogwarts): Ehwaz (Friendship) - Read a book that a friend recommended to you.


My Pick: Ayesha at Last by Uzma Jalaluddin



I must admit, I'd wanted to read this book for a few weeks before my friend Jonathan recommended it to me. His recommendation only served to make me more excited to read it, though. The fact that he flew through it in two days, gave it a five-star rating, and immediately pressed it into my hands afterwards, waxing rhapsodically about how amazing a read it was is a glowing recommendation, so how could I not be hotly anticipating reading it? Plus, it's a modern-day Muslim retelling of Pride and Prejudice. Ayesha at Last needs no further qualities to put it very high on my TBR pile.





2. To achieve an E (Excellent) in Ancient Runes: Read a book written in the past tense


My Pick: A Song for Summer by Eva Ibbotson



Finding a book written in the past tense turned out to be more difficult than I thought it would be! Luckily, not only does A Song for Summer fit the prompt, but it also promises to be a sweet, summer read. Eva Ibbotson always writes sweet historical novels, which makes this novel the perfect beach read to enjoy during the end of summer and the beginning of the school year. I don't know much about the plot offhand, but I find that not knowing could form part of the fun of reading it.









3. To achieve an O (Outstanding) in Ancient Runes (the subject you wish to teach at Hogwarts): Read a book that has been on your TBR for ages.


My Pick: Moll Flanders by Daniel Defoe



This book has been on my TBR for a couple of years now, and I still haven't gotten around to reading it. It is not only a classic and a staple of eighteenth-century literature, but it is a perfect example of why I love eighteenth-century literature: it proves that the 1700s were not as stodgy and proper a time as everyone tends to think. As I understand it so far, it is the story of Moll Flanders who falls into many sexual scandals, with hilarious and adventure-inducing consequences. I also plan on tracking down the miniseries afterwards, which starred Alex Kingston and Daniel Craig.







4. To achieve an A (Acceptable) in Defense Against the Dark Arts - Read a book that's black under the dust jacket


My Pick: Princesses Behaving Badly by Linda Rodriguez McRobbie



I was quite lucky to always have books about strong female figures in history while I was growing up - so much so that I never thought that having access to feminist history was anything unusual! That doesn't mean, however, that there isn't more to learn about amazing women throughout history. Thus, when I spotted this book in the sale section at the book store, I just had to take it home with me. It fits the bill of being black on and under the dust jacket, and I hope it will not only be inspirational to me but also to my students, as I may be back in school by the time I read this book at the end of August.




5. To achieve an E (Excellent) in Defense Against the Dark Arts: Read the first book that came to mind from your TBR (Professor Lockhart's memory charm).



My Pick: The Loving Cup by Winston Graham


The Loving Cup is the tenth book in the Poldark series. With the final television series hitting PBS at the end of September, I'm keen to finish the book series. However, I don't want the series to end! Nampara has become such a welcoming, happy place for me to go. I'll just have to reread the series in the future, I suppose!

If you're not familiar with the premise of the Poldark series, it features the life of Ross Poldark as he fights to make a place for himself and his family in Cornwall starting in the late 1780s. The characters are rich, drama abounds, and the Cornish coast is a vibrant, beautiful setting.


6. To achieve an A (Acceptable) in History of Magic: Read a fantasy book.



My Pick: The Lost Queen by Signe Pike


I picked up this novel at BookCon without knowing a lot about the plot itself. All I knew at the time was that there was a Kirsty Logan quote on the cover comparing it to "Outlander meets Camelot". I was sold instantly. In more detail, it is the story of Languoreth, a sixth-century queen, and her twin brother, Lailoken, the man who inspired the figure of Merlin. Druids, Celts, ancient Britain, fighting to preserve 'the Old Ways', Arthurian legends...what more could I ask for from a novel?

*No, it's not strictly a fantasy novel, but there are some mythological and possibly magical elements, which is as close to a fantasy novel as my TBR gets.


7. To achieve an A (Acceptable) in Muggle Studies: Read a book with a photo element.



My Pick: The World Only Spins Forward: The Ascent of Angels in America by Isaac Butler and Dan Kois


I was lucky enough to see Angels in America on Broadway last year. It really is a life-changing show. It tackles the AIDS crisis, homosexuality, religion, death, the afterlife, and what it means to be a "fabulous creature". In spite of its subject matter, it is beautifully life-affirming. The World Only Spins Forward is an oral history of the play, released last year for the revival's Broadway run. I can't wait to read the thoughts of previous casts, crews, and writers of what has become one of my favorite plays.




I'll post what I think of these books in my August Wrap-Up. Have you liked any of these books? Let me know in the comments below. Until next time, happy reading!



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page